CMES is governed by an Executive Steering Committee, consisting of UC Berkeley tenured faculty specializing in the Middle East from different disciplines.

Current committee members

Ahmad Diab (Assistant Professor of Arabic Literature)

Charles Hirshkind (Professor and Chair of Anthropology)

Christine Philliou (Associate Professor of History)

Maria Mavroudi (Professor of History)

Anneka Lenssen (Assistant Professor of Global Modern Art) 

Asad Q. Ahmed (CMES Chair and Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies), ex officio